LOVE is only a word

As I came to the office yesterday, turned on my office computer and did some office works and yes, I do open social network sites too. (haha.. ssshhh..) I opened my twitter account and read Paulo Coelho’s tweet. Actually he already tweeted this last year but somehow he needs to retweet it again for others to be reminded of, like yours truly.. ๐Ÿ™‚

The post was really worth sharing, so I tweeted a line from it and never realized that Paulo would have noticed it. He requoted my tweet and then floods of retweets and favorites came from his followers. I know they did it because of Paulo and not because of me but it’s nice to get noticed while free-riding from someone else’s fame. haha

Here’s my tweet,

His requote,

I just also found out yesterday that my co-worker is also getting married the next day which is basically today. We (my office mates) were asked to give a message for her as best wishes , so I gave her this. With a little art and a sensual photo (haha). We managed to make a card for her incorporating Paulo Coelho’s ‘Love is only a word’ post.

So here’s Paulo’s post that earned me many retweets and favorites.

Love is only a word

April 1, 2013 by

Life is too short for us to keep important words, for example, โ€˜I love youโ€™, locked in our hearts.

But do not always expect to hear the same words back. We love because we need to love. Otherwise, love loses all meaning and the sun ceases to shine.

A rose dreams of enjoying the company of bees, but none appears. The sun asks:
โ€˜Arenโ€™t you tired of waiting?โ€™
โ€˜Yes,โ€™ answers the rose, โ€˜but if I close my petals, I will wither and die.โ€™

And yet, even when Love does not appear, we remain open to its presence. Sometimes, when loneliness seems about to crush everything, the only way to resist is to keep on loving.

Our one true choice is to plunge into the mystery of that uncontrollable force.
Then we discover, when we go home, that someone was there waiting for us, looking for the same thing we were looking for and experiencing the same anxieties and longings.

Because love is like the water that is transformed into a cloud: itโ€™s lifted up into the heavens, where it can see everything from a distance, aware that, one day, it will have to return to earth.

Because love is like the cloud that is transformed into rain: it is drawn down to the earth, where it waters the fields.

Love is only a word, until we decide to let it possess us with all its force.
Love is only a word, until someone arrives to give it meaning.

Donโ€™t give up. Remember, itโ€™s always the last key on the keyring that opens the door.

taken from THE MANUSCRIPT FOUND IN ACCRA

If you want to read more of Paulo Coelho, visit his bloghere.

2 thoughts on “LOVE is only a word

Leave a Reply

