Febrero Uno: The Book of Ivy

Hola!

Today is February first in my country. A very rainy and cold Sunday here in the Philippines and I’m spending some lone time with my younger brother. My parents are out of town and my brother and I decided to stay home because of the  weather. We usually go out on Sundays when we are together so we opted a stay-at-home Sunday while waiting for our madre and padre to arrive from their 3-day vacation.

Anyway, I was being productive today. I just finished a book (YA) that I really like because I’m such a dystopian addict. I don’t know why I love this type of young adult genre. Maybe because it reflects the government status in the Philippines somehow.

The book is entitled ‘The Book of Ivy’ by Amy Engel.

the book of ivyIt’s like a post-apocalyptic Romeo and Juliet love story. I love how the author balanced the characters. Most dystopian genres I’ve read with female leads have a very strong character than their male counter parts. So I gave 5 stars for this on Goodreads, I can’t wait for the next book! Ivy and Bishop’s story was written so nicely.
I hope the second book this November 2015  ‘The Revolution of Ivy’ won’t disappoint me.

I encourage you to read it too! Here’s a brief intro of the book.

The Book of Ivy: After a brutal nuclear war, the United States was left decimated. A small group of survivors eventually banded together, but only after more conflict over which family would govern the new nation. The Westfalls lost. Fifty years later, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing side to the sons of the winning group in a yearly ritual.

This year, it is my turn.

My name is Ivy Westfall, and my mission is simple: to kill the president’s son—my soon-to-be husband—and restore the Westfall family to power.

But Bishop Lattimer is either a very skilled actor or he’s not the cruel, heartless boy my family warned me to expect. He might even be the one person in this world who truly understands me. But there is no escape from my fate. I am the only one who can restore the Westfall legacy.

Because Bishop must die. And I must be the one to kill him.

So get this now on your tablets! 🙂

Leave a Reply

